top of page

Living Well: Where is your treasure?


Hurricane Matthew has taken quite a toll on the East Coast, and North Carolina in particular. The news is filled with stories of downed trees and water rising to dangerous levels. As I write, Eastern North Carolina is still bracing for the worst effects of the storm and many remain without power. My in-laws live in Goldsboro, and they’ve had a particularly rough time. They are still without power and the area was hit with widespread damage from the rain, wind, and rising water levels. My father-in-law is an electri- cal contractor, and I doubt he’s gotten more than a few hours of sleep in days as his company attempts to get businesses back up and running. It’s both terrifying and inspiring to hear all the stories of how people have been affected and how others have responded to assist.

Here in Raleigh, we lost power at our house for a day, and our neighbors had a large tree fall and hit their house. After assessing the damage and making sure everyone was in good health, we decided to venture out so we could spend time with friends and make the most of a bad situation. Without power and natural gas, our home simply didn’t provide anything more than a protective layer against the water that was looking for every possible ave- nue to gain entry. Our basement held up fairly well, all things considered, but we still had what appeared to be five or six tributaries running along the floor washing away anything they touched.

Storms like Matthew are seasonal, but thankfully not all are this intense. The winds and rain appear to be so de- structive, but I try to view them differently. I see storms as cleansing, washing away debris, helping trees shed dead limbs and twigs. I spent a few hours on Sunday working with my family to clean up our yard and dispose of pine cones, branches, and other items strewn about, thanks to this “cleansing.” My back was tired but my heart was full.

My family and friends were safe and in good health. The Sun had returned and the water was receding. We were blessed.

I travel a great deal with my work but have been fortu- nate to remain in Raleigh this week so I could help around the house and with getting our kidsdowned trees and power lines andhave escaped with such little dam-to school. As I’ve made my way around downtown Raleigh, I’ve noticed street after street closed due toage. I’m sure many of you have noticed just how many trees and homes have been damaged and the extensive effort underway to repair and provide safe passage for our children to return to school. I applaud all who have given of themselves to help return our city back to the safe and beautiful place we have come to love.I travel a great deal with my work but have been fortu- nate to remain in Raleigh this week so I could help around the house and with getting our kids to school. As I’ve made my way around downtown Raleigh, I’ve noticed street after street closed due to downed trees and power lines and realize just how fortunate we were to have escaped with such little damage. I’m sure many of you have noticed just how many trees and homes have been damaged and the extensive effort underway to repair and provide safe passage for our children to return to school. I applaud all who have given of themselves to help return our city back to the safe and beautiful place we have come to love.

I can’t help but see the parallel between The Well at Hayes Barton and storms like Matthew, both having started with varying levels of destruction. Water is the source of so many gifts; we depend on it each day. It pro- vides life and, in certain conditions, it can take it away. Our church and its congregation continue to provide of themselves in our community, around the area, and even abroad. The only way this can happen is by people giving of their time, their energy, their talents, their creativity, and, of course, their money. We each do and give as we can, or we all struggle together. This is the time of year when we search our hearts for what we can offer back to our church for all it has done for us.

I hope God continues to challenge your minds, touch your hearts, and bless your lives...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page