top of page

Being with God

Open my eyes, that I may see

Glimpses of truth Thou hast for me;

Place in my hands the wonderful key

That shall unclasp and set me free

Silently now I wait for Thee,

Ready my God, Thy will to see,

Open my eyes, illumine me,

Spirit divine!

Clara H. Scott, 1895

For many years Henry and I have had the blessing of helping out in the Starnes Class (Hayes Barton’s Differently Abled Sunday School Class). Each Sunday after we greet all the students and have our song time, we pause in silence before the lesson to rest in God’s Presence. I am always amazed and inspired by how quiet the class members become. There can be a a frenzy of excitement and often total chaos when we first gather, but when we stop to offer God our hearts and minds in silence, there is a reverence and awe that takes my breath away.

Now in these days of the pandemic and social distancing, it feels like I have been in a kind of chaos. Everything I had on my calendar is obliterated - appointments, trips and special gatherings with friends and family are canceled as well as the nourishment my soul receives from worship, Bible studies, prayer and church gatherings. There are also concerns about loved ones, isolation, income and security. I continue to grieve and process all the changes, but I’m also starting to look at what opportunities might unfold as I spend more time in quiet and rest with the one who calls me beloved.

I recognize that I can do and do and do for God, myself, my family all day long, but simply being with God can be a struggle……especially now when my mind is preoccupied with the news of the day and concerns about the future. Any time longer than 20 seconds spent resting in God’s presence does not always elicit a peaceful, easy feeling. I get antsy and want to do something…….anything! However, in cultivating stillness with God over many years, I have learned that simply being with God is the most important part of my day. I understand that those we are closest to are the ones with which we are able to rest in silence. So it is with God. Through contemplative practices, I’ve experienced a deeper relationship with God and a personal transformation that has been life giving and life changing. I am more content with “what is,” less likely to over react to changes and circumstances in life and am quicker to forgive and let go of things a little more easily.

It seems to come down to surrendering my self-oriented focus, including how I want things to be, when I want them to be that way and how I want people to behave. Paul reminds us in Philippians, chapter 2 that Jesus emptied and humbled himself…. and became obedient to the point of death. My silent time with God is often an emptying of me so there might be more room for Him to move in my life and offer the healing and wholeness I so eagerly desire. As hard as it is in these challenging days to “Be still and know that I am God.” (Psalm 41:10), I know I must try; for the Divine connection I experience in these moments keeps me grounded in LOVE throughout the day. I am reminded that I am never alone.

If you have a copy of the Hayes Barton booklet: “Practices to Deepen Our Relationship with God” (originally titled: “Practices to Help Still Our Souls.”), I encourage you to spend a few moments each day finding a practice that helps you rest in God’s grace, love and provision. You don’t have to do anything…..just be. After all, that’s what we are - human be-ings, not do-ings. Be patient and trust that God will do the transformative work God does when we are open, quiet and still. Take small steps and don’t give up! Allow God to meet you in the struggle and see what he has in store for you over the long haul…….the days, weeks, and months, to come.

If you don’t have one of these booklets, be on the lookout for these practices to be included in future Hayes Barton newsletters and publications. Begin with a Breath Prayer: A short prayer of petition or praise which is repeated with each breath that helps us become aware of the presence of God. Try using scripture verses or phrases of six to eight words such as : “Guide me in your Truth” or “Teach me your way, O Lord” or “Abba, I am yours”

The Hayes Barton Chapel Prayer Labyrinth is not currently available, but try walking one of the outdoor labyrinths in the area. This could be a great family devotional time as well. They are located at: Millbrook Baptist Church, Hudson Presbyterian Church, St. Mark’s UMC, and St. Michael’s Episcopal Church.

It’s been said that in our society we move at the speed of light. Now we have the opportunity to move at the speed of life.

In returning and rest you shall be saved;

in quietness and trust shall be your strength. Isaiah 30:15

Blessings,

Mary June Jones

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page