top of page

Masks! Masks! Marvelous Mask Mission

When the news started sinking in that we were going to be shut in and shut down for quite some time, I asked myself these three questions:

1. What can I do to help others?

2. What can I do to maintain my health and sanity? (Social distancing is hard for all of us. I am an off the chart extrovert. I knew that without my daily dose of people, I might truly go crazy)

That's when I learned from Pastor Rick that Pat Murray, a retired nurse and member of my circle and Bev Norwood, another church member and neighbor were hard at work sewing masks. Since I have absolutely no sewing skill whatsoever, I volunteered to be their messenger and delivery girl. I sent out messages to everybody I could think of who might also be able to sew or know someone who could sew. Soon we had a team of twenty or more. And, soon I was taking orders and picking up masks and delivering masks. For six weeks now, I have been driving around Raleigh in my convertible with the top down, soaking in the sun, seeing new parts of town, going on new roads, and meeting new women! What talented women we have sewing these masks! It has been so rewarding to hear their stories of helping others all around the United States and to get pictures of pharmacists, and nurses and doctors and students and refugees and elderly church members wearing our HBUMC masks. It has been really fun to have a big pink basket on my porch filled with masks for people and to get to say hi to them when they come get their mask (keeping my required social distance). And it has been especially worthwhile seeing the smiles on their faces when they like the one I picked out especially for them. I think I kind of like this whole thing! There's the rainbow in the clouds!

Do you need a mask? Do you know a group of people who needs them? We will hook you up with a fun and festive mask or a basic and boring one. We have all styles, colors and varieties! (Call the church to be connected with Jennifer or Lisa Coster, who can deliver masks to you.)

If you have material, elastic, plastic bags or coffee filters to contribute to the cause or if you would like to join the sewing team, please let us know that as well. Thanks to all of you who have contributed already to this marvelous mission!

Lots of love and applause for these women:

Betsy Allen, Kathy Barnhill, LJ Becker, Ruth Bryan, Jill Charville, Joy Clayton, Tina Clyburn, Janey Hunter, Melanie Iverson, Jennifer Jones, Jerry Lachapelle, Pat Murray, Bev Norwood, Beth Pierce, Ellen Safrit, Susan Self, Ann Thompson, Beth Weaver, Lori Harrelson, and Kathy Marks.

-- Jennifer Cates

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page