top of page

Dinner with Family Promise


Church member Connie Fowler took dinner to our Family Promise guests on Sunday night. Here is her report from the evening:

We had a wonderful time providing dinner from the Journey Class. We arrived at the church at 5:45 and left at 7:45. There were three families tonight — one family (mom, dad & 4 children all under the age of 9), and one family (mom and 2 teenage children - the girl had her tonsils removed only 4 days prior) and one family (mom and 2 children under 6). All were eager to chat with us. My daughter played with all the children, another child helped us set up the food and then we all sat together for the meal. It was YUMMY as we have some good and generous cooks in our midst!!! After dinner, some of us cleared the dishes and the kitchen while church members and guests played a game of “what do you like better” with the families. The moms stayed in the dinning room to play the game. What a blessing for us to be there and interact with these families. When it was time to go my daughter seriously didn’t want to leave all the fun. I told each family goodbye and that perhaps I would see them Wednesday as they will be joining us for the Wednesday night dinner. As we were heading home in our warm car on the icy roads I was hit by the thought that the real gift exchanged tonight was sitting and enjoying a meal with the families. The after-dinner game was a big hit evidenced by the fact that the parents joined in. We got home and my cat looked at me and meowed which is her code to me that I need to fill her food bowl. I thought, my cat has more safety, security and assurance that on command her needs are met than the young children in the families who must transition daily and weekly. I am grateful that I have a warm fire to sit by while I’m typing this email on my personal laptop, and I’m grateful that so many in our church are able to offer a gift to families who are in transition.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page