top of page

Teach Us To Pray

It was a straight forward question from the disciples. They’ve seen Jesus do it. They heard what he had said. Yet they still didn’t completely understand. So one of the disciples says to Jesus, “Lord, teach us to pray” (Luke 11:1). It’s a simple question with a profound answer. In his answer, Jesus gives us the words we have come to know as the Lord’s Prayer.

Whenever I read about the disciples, the more I think we are all like them. Even though they were right there with Jesus, they still needed help. So, they reach out and ask Jesus. Just like those first disciples, I sometimes need help in my life of prayer. I find myself thinking about those familiar questions of inquiry: Who? What? Where? When? Why? How?

While at times I may ask these questions before I pray, they are not helpful guides to a good habit of prayer. Rather they are obstacles to a genuine and honest way of praying to God who doesn’t demand perfection. Anytime and way we pause and reach out to God, is a good and worthy prayer God wants to hear.

Even though we don’t need to have a perfect prayer, it can sometimes be difficult to find the words to pray. Life can be hard, we can feel lost, or tragedy strikes again and we are left speechless. With the disciples we cry out, “Lord, teach us to pray.” Thanks be to God that Christ gives us the gift of the guide that is the Lord’s Prayer. This prayer not only gives us specific words to pray but it also gives us an outline for our own prayers.

In the Lord’s Prayer there are three simple petitions. These petitions are for food, forgiveness, and fidelity. Our prayers for food connect with individual needs, forgiveness is a prayer that helps us to live in community, and fidelity represents our spiritual needs. Here again we find what prayer is all about: knowing ourselves, connecting with our community, and having a relationship with God.

When I pause in life to write or say my own prayers, there is a simple outline that I follow. I simply remember, thank, and ask. I remember all that God has done from the beginning in creating, for what God has done throughout the ages, and for what God has done for me in my own life. I remember these things and in remembering it helps me to be hopeful for what God will do in the future.

This leads me to give thanks. By remembering all that God has done, I am in awe and thank God for the gift of things like mercy and grace, forgiveness and salvation. I thank God for my Savior Jesus Christ and for leading me to a life of faith in Christ.

After giving thanks for what God is up to, I am led to ask God for what I see as needs in my life and in the world. I ask God to continue to be part of my life and the lives of others. I pray for God to bring about peace since there is so much need for it. I ask God to help me to be an instrument of justice, peace, and love. And I pray asking God to allow my life to continue to be open and willing to follow God’s lead. All of these prayers and petitions: remembering, thanking, and asking, are given so that the light of Christ will be a part of my life.

When it comes down to it, there is no wrong way to pray. One of my favorite authors, Anne Lamott, says that when we pray all we need to say is “Thank you, thank you, thank you; Help me, help me, help me!” When we can’t find the words on our own, when we know we just need to reach out to God, Lamott’s prayer is all we really need. That’s what prayer is all about: authentically reaching out to God and knowing we can’t make it through life without God. If you have questions about prayer or need help making it more of a part of your life of discipleship, I would love to talk…and pray! with you. I pray this finds you all doing well!

With love and prayers, Pastor Adam

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page