top of page

From an anonymous care receiver...

Testimonial from a Care Receiver

The relationship with my Stephen Minister had evolved from the darkest of times, to the happiest of days and the start of a brand new life. My Stephen Minister had been there for me every step of the way. Faithful, loyal, steadfast, devoted, loving, compassionate, and sympathetic. For 4 years she supported me, encouraged me and prayed for me. Do you know how powerful that is?To have someone always praying for you? She walked beside me, she walked in front of me leading me with her grace and Christian love, and often she walked behind me, pushing me forward when I didn’t think I could take another step on my own. She taught me to TRUST in God’s plan. She taught me that God will never leave me and that I need to turn to Him in good times as well as bad. She taught me to be grateful and thankful and realize how blessed I am. I am truly blessed. She also taught me about love. As it says in 1 Corinthians 13:6-7 “Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends.”

Stephen Ministry is about Christian love for one another. I pray that none of you ever experience the grief journey I traveled. But if darkness does enter your life, I also pray that you realize that help is available. You are not alone. There is a Stephen Minister for you that is waiting to enter your life. Or you might just be that Stephen Minister that someone else going through a struggle so desperately needs. I know that when God thinks it’s time, I will become a Stephen Minister someday. God doesn’t give us this type of a life changing experience not to learn from it and share it with others.

- Anonymous

Stephen Ministry is confidential one-to-one Christian care for individuals in our congregation and community who are experiencing difficulties in their lives.

For confidential referrals and to learn more about Stephen Ministry, contact Becky Balentine (bbalentine1025@gmail.com) or Adam Charville (acharville@hbumc.org).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page